top of page


The Nation's Premier Energy Law Journal


The Texas Journal of Oil, Gas, and Energy Law is a bi-annual publication promoting legal scholarship in the energy field and is one of the largest student-led journals at the University of Texas School of Law. The Journal has the twin purposes of publishing timely, quality, and practical legal analysis as well as cultivating a social and professional energy law community at Texas Law.


Since its first edition released in 2005, the Journal has published material on issues spanning the energy space. From upstream, midstream, and downstream oil and gas, to renewables and electricity, TJOGEL will consider publication of articles and notes on a wide range of energy-law-related topics.

Apart from TJOGEL's publications, the Journal puts on a myriad of events and programs throughout the Fall and Spring semesters that connect the best and brightest students, attorneys, and legal professionals in the energy space, including Career Panels (pictured here), Happy Hours, Roundtable Luncheons, and Coffee & Conversations. The TJOGEL Society, which is the Journal's social and networking group, is one of the largest student organizations at Texas Law. Membership in the TJOGEL Society is open to all enrolled Texas Law students who pay the Society's membership dues.

bottom of page